Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Thomas More Uses Big Third Inning to Defeat Chicago,8-0, in NCAA Regional Opener

Thomas More Uses Big Third Inning to Defeat Chicago,8-0, in NCAA Regional Opener

(CHICAGO, Ill.) - The third-seeded Thomas More College softball team used an eight run third inning to defeat second-seeded University of Chicago, 8-0, in five innings today (Friday, May 9, 2014) in the opening game of the Chicago Regional of the NCAA Division III Softball Championship Tournament at Stagg Field in Chicago, Illinois.

With the win, the Saints improve to 31-10 and advance to play fourth-seeded Benedictine University in the winner's bracket finals at 11 a.m. Central/12 p.m. Eastern.  With the loss, the Maroons fall to 25-9 and will play top-seeded University of Wisconsin-Whitewater at 1:30 p.m. Central/2:30 p.m. Eastern in an elimination game.

Thomas More did all of it's damage in the third inning as it sent 13 batters to the plate and scored eight runs on five hits and one Chicago error.  Eight different Saints crossed the plate in the third inning.

Senior pitcher Ronni Burns (Dayton, Ohio/Carroll) earned the win on the mound as she pitched five shutout innings and gave up six hits, while striking out three and walking one.  Burns credited her speed to the success against the Maroons' batters.  "Towards the end, I started to get more comfortable in the circle, and I was able to control my pitches a lot better, said Burns. "So I think that helped my speed."

In the game, eight of the Saints' nine batters registered a hit in the game and eight of the Saints had a run batted-in.  "We were putting the ball in play, being patient with our at-bats and getting a couple good pitches to hit," stated Head Coach Lindsay Bramhall.